In Defense of God and Humanity

Before I resume with this post, I’d like to give readers a brief intro about myself so that readers who don’t know me well get a clearer picture about my intentions. Here goes:

My name is Humzah. I’m Muslim but only by birth. I do not subscribe to any particular religion, faith or belief. I do not pray 5 times a day. I do not go to the mosque. I never talk about religion unless I’m prompted to. Those who have met me often joke that I seem to be tilting toward atheism (not that I think there’s anything wrong with atheism) but I am not an atheist. I believe in love, God and humanity and though I might joke around, I adore, love and believe in God (a lot more than I might appear to). I am spiritual. I’m extremely open-minded and anything that has been mentioned or written in this blog post is NOT meant to educate you about any particular religion.

We live in a world where every religion and anyone who subscribes to any faith has been targeted for his or her faith at some point or the other. Those who do not believe in religion are often pushed around, too and no matter how virtuous one might be, you are always taught to associate religion (be it Islam, Christianity, Judaism or such like) with everything that is wrong with this world. The Jews were tortured, horribly, at one point in time. Catholics and Protestants were insulted and tortured for their beliefs and the same has happened to anyone who believes/believed in and follows or followed Islam. Forgive me for not mentioning Buddhism, Hinduism or any other religion. I am not very well-versed in those religions but I do know that Hindus, Buddhists, Zoroastrians and several other people (belonging to different faiths) have been mistreated, insulted and tortured and killed at various points in time.

Today, you are taught to look at religion skeptically. I am not just talking about any particular religion- I am talking about ALL religions. Switch on any channel or go to any sermon and you will see that speakers refer to various people as Islamists, Christians or Jews. Politicians refer to the group in Syria and Iraq as ISIS- the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria. Some refer to Israel as a Jewish state and then, there are those who refer to the Taliban, Al-Qaeda and other groups as Islamic militants.

If you speak to me, you’ll never hear or see me referring to these groups by their so-called religious affiliations. Why? I believe it is extremely wrong, inaccurate and almost insulting to refer to any group by the religion they subscribe to. Anyone who believe in any religion can pick up any book or Holy Script and read it CAREFULLY. You will find that every religion teaches you primarily two things- 1. There IS a God and 2. He encourages you to love those around you regardless of what faith they belong to.

Different prophets (Peace be upon them all) have come and gone and all of them taught mankind about the benefits and importance of being good human beings. All of them taught us about people who will/have and still do use religion to do unimaginably horrifying things in the name of God. These people have been referred to as “hypocrites”- not Muslims, Hindus, Jews or Christians or such.

That is exactly what these people are. ISIS is NOT the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria; the Taliban are NOT Muslims and Israel is NOT a JEWISH STATE. These are groups that have bastardized the concept of humanity, religion and they will tell you that they are doing everything in the name of God.

God/Allah/Jehovah/Yahweh/Bhagwan is a being who speaks against these vile people in all texts. I am not a practicing Muslim and if you ask me I will tell you “I was born in a Muslim household but do not follow Islam as such” but I know one thing for sure- God has and always will accept His creation so long as His creation does not wrong one another. He teaches us, in all texts, that you reap what you sew.

Though I do not pray to him on a prayer mat, I do know that despite the fact that I have a few issues with some religious ‘principles’ and despite the fact that I am leading a life or believe in somethings that religion might be against, He has provided me with a wonderful life and one that I am so thankful for. I felt I owed it to Him to defend Him and to defend those who love and believe in humanity or different religions- regardless of their faiths or lack there of. If there’s anything I know it’s that religion teaches you to be a good human being- for the most part. Yes, there are a few areas I might not agree with but in no way has believing in those ‘areas’ affected me adversely. There are others, like me, who feel the same way as me, too. I do not know about myself but I know that there are good people out there and I know I have an abundance of them in my life.

Then, on the other hand, you see people who go around killing innocent men, women and children and they say “Allah-o-Akbar” to show their allegiance to and love for God. Are these ‘good’ people? Are they ‘Muslims’? No. They are not.

The unfortunate incident of 12/16/2014 and the like have not been committed or arranged by human beings, Muslims or religious groups. These were organized by cold-hearted, calculative, arrogant and inhumane creatures that subscribe to NO faith.

Some of these people believe that they are fighting for the ‘greater good’ because they have been brainwashed into believing that that is what they are doing (much like you are brainwashed into believing that these people actually believe in God or are human beings). Then, there are those who believe that the gateway to Heaven is only a suicide pact away. Their fate is not known to the living but it is evident that their goals cannot and will not be met, ever. For every crime they commit, a 100 (at least) people will come together to express their sadness for one another. The most recent incident attracted empathy from a vast number of people in the world. I’m not talking about politicians looking to use this as a stepping stone to succeed in the next elections nor about TV channels who are paid to misrepresent various people and groups- I am talking about people who have stepped forward to show their remorse for the attack. The attack on 132 children in Pakistan was horrible and I cannot find a word to describe the incident in words. Yesterday ISIS executed 150 women for not marrying their militants. What god encourages such actions?

Certainly not the God I know and believe in. The God I know and believe in accepts all for who and how they are. He also encourages mankind not to judge one another because He alone is the judge of mankind. Again, pick up any text and read it and you will find that God often says that He alone has the right to judge mankind- does he say that Muslims, Jews or Christians will be punished? No but He does say that ‘hypocrites’ will be thrown into the depths of Hell and that they will be punished in this world and the next. If a group of hypocritical militants have to blow themselves up to prove their point and yet fails to attract the masses to, what they call, ‘religion’ I’m sure of the fact that they are already failing and will continue to fail.

My purpose in writing this post was as follows:

1. To encourage readers to stop referring to these inhumane people and groups as “islamists” or “Jews” or such like because groups like the Taliban or countries such as Israel are the power-hungry hypocrites that all religious texts and God refers to.

2. To prevent you from bad-mouthing religion or insulting those who belong to different faiths just because they are different from you

3. To tell you that the concept of humanity trumps religion- regardless of what religion you belong to (I have seen several atheists living wonderful lives though they do not subscribe to any faith and this goes to prove that they are and will be rewarded for their deeds and intentions- just as any Muslim, Hindu or Christian, etc. would).

4. To tell you that the ‘god’ that hypocrites refer to is not the God of Muslims, Jews, Hindus, Christians, etc- the god that they pray to is their arrogance.

5. The God that supports and loves his creation is the true God/Allah/Yahweh/Jehovah or Bhagwan and THIS is the God that true Muslims, Christians, Jews, Hindus, etc. refer and pray to.

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog post.

4 thoughts on “In Defense of God and Humanity

    1. hmraja Post author

      Exactly. There are too many people out there that would have the world believing that the killers are the believers when they are not. How someone so lecherous can be said to follow any religion is beyond me.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. gul

    BRAVO HAMZAH VERY WELL WRITTEN THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT MUSLIMS NOR ARE THEY ANIMALS THEY ARE LOWEST OF THE LOW IN THE ORDER OF CREATION SO THERE YOU GO WELL DONE MY DEAR LUV U BBGUL

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

