Dear 16 Year Old Humzah- I remember

Hi!

I first thought of writing a post entitled “What I’ve Learned in The Past 27 Years of My Life” but I don’t want to discount you and not thank you for who you are. So, where do I start?

I remember being sad when I was you. I was conflicted as to who I was. Other people bothered me and their opinions mattered to me. I wanted to lose weight and become someone else more than anything back then. Trust me, you don’t want to make the same mistake so let go of all that emotionality because you’re going to learn how  to be yourself without being ashamed of anything at all. You’re going to meet people who will teach you so much about life and about how important it is to be who you are. You’re going to accomplish a lot more that way.

I remember being envious of people who I wished to be- not because they were actually amazing people- but because they seemed to have it all but at the end of the day I learned that really wasn’t the case. Be yourself, be who you are and don’t be ashamed to stand up to them. Hey, don’t give me that look and snap out of that depressive phase. Stop trying to change who you are because I’ve learned a lot from you. One of the things you taught me was that changing yourself is the worst thing you can do and hope to benefit from.

I remember being upset about being overweight. Oh, just FYI- you’re going to rip a pair of jeans (that you love) as you wear them. You’ll realize how fat you’ve become at that point. That’s when the road to weight loss will start. It’s going to be a long and slow process and though you’ll see several tummy rolls in your shirt, that’s all going to go away. When it does you’ll see, know and learn that it doesn’t matter what you look like (God, I remember being so superficial when I was you). Your weight is going to fluctuate because you’ll want it to- but the best part is you’ll be able to fit into clothes that you like!

I remember being sad or ashamed of who I was when I was you. People are going to bash you for several reasons and they’ll use you and they’ll degrade you but know that the only reason anyone does that is because they’re so empty that they feel the need to leech off others. You’ll learn that the hard way but when you see the truth for what it is, you’re going to be thankful to God for showing you the truth.

Oh, much like any other person who’s victim of bullying or snide commentary, you’re going to develop self-esteem issues. You won’t know it, you won’t admit to it and you’re probably all WTF as you read this but that’s exactly what’s going to happen. On the bright side, you’ll shift to Lahore and you’ll meet people who you’ll accept and love and they’ll teach you to treat yourself the same way. They’re going to rub off you and you’ll learn that the best thing that you can do is to be yourself.

I remember believing that a particular group of friends were my ‘best friends’ back then but you’ll move to Lahore and that’s where you’ll truly learn what its like to be that way with anyone.

I remember feeling upset by what people thought about me back then. The worst rumors will be spread about you and about your friends. These will be spread by people that you ‘trust’ right now but everything will be out in the open in time and you’ll thank God for it.

Why am I writing this letter now? Well, it’s almost 10 years since I was where you are now and I want you to know that when you come to terms with your past, that’s when you learn to progress in the future. I’ve been talking to people who’ve been going through things that you’re about to go through and thought it important to convey to you that the worst SHALL pass and when it does, you’ll learn to let go of your past.

I remember wanting to ‘cut out the old Humzah’- never make the mistake of doing that to yourself because I am now, who I shouldn’t have been afraid to be back then. Love people for who they are, don’t judge them and stop worrying. I’m officially letting go of my past and looking toward a bright future- THAT is my motive in writing this letter.

From

Someone You’re About to Be 🙂

4 thoughts on “Dear 16 Year Old Humzah- I remember

  1. Muhammad Bilal

    I came across this post of yours on the same day when I was struggling with myself. It was probably just what I needed. I do hope that whatever worked you works for me too. I do hope that I learn to be happy with myself and be accepted for who I am. Thank you for the wonderful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Humzah Raja Post author

      Hi! Thank you for taking the time to read this post. I’m sorry that you’re struggling and feel the way that you do but there’s always light at the end of the tunnel. Accept yourself for who you are first of all. Once you do you’ll find all the other pieces fall into place. Feel free to contact me on my email ID (hmraja89@gmail.com) if there any posts you’d like me to write or any queries you’d like me to help you with. Trust yourself and don’t let others bog you down- ever 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. phirshuwademagh

    Such an excellent post again. Very inspiring! It is great to hear how strong willed you have become! I struggle with similar issues (physique, etc). How did you overcome your struggles?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

